Twelve Genesis HealthCare Centers Receive Bronze National Quality Award

KENNETT SQUARE, PA–Genesis HealthCare, one of the nation's largest providers of post-acute care, today announced that 12 of its Centers have been recognized as 2016 recipients of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award for their dedication to improving the lives of patients and residents through quality care. The award is the first of three distinctions possible through the National Quality Award Program, presented by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL), the leading association for long term and post-acute care. The program honors providers across the nation that have demonstrated their commitment to improving quality of care for seniors and persons with disabilities.

"It's an honor for these 12 centers to have been recognized for the hard work and quality of care their teams provides every day," said George V. Hager, Jr., CEO of Genesis HealthCare. "We are committed to providing high-quality, person-centered care to our patients, residents and their families. We will never stop improving."
The 12 Genesis centers receiving the Bronze honor are:

Ansted Center – Ansted, WV
Crestview Center – Shelbyville, KY
Dawnview Center – Fort Ashby, WV
Folkston Center – Folkston, GA
Highgate at Paoli Point – Paoli, PA
Lofland Park Center – Seaford, DE
Maple Glen Center – Fair Lawn, NJ
Pennsburg Manor – Pennsburg, PA
Phillipsburg Center – Phillipsburg, NJ
Renaissance Terrace – Harriman, TN
Summit Ridge – West Orange, NJ
Twin Oaks Center – Danvers, MA

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.

The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with essential performance elements such as vision and mission statements and an assessment of customers' expectations. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained Examiners review each Bronze application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. As a recipients of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award, these 12 Genesis centers may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award.

"I applaud the women and men of these 12 Genesis centers for their commitment to improve quality care," said the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers Chair Christine Boldt. "This award is the first step in a program that serves as an essential guide to performance excellence. I encourage them to continue their quality journey."

The awards will be presented during AHCA/NCAL's 67th Annual Convention and Exposition in Nashville, Tennessee, October 16-19, 2016.